Little Nightingale

Little Nightingale
Little Nightingale
Where have you gone
Where have you been

The night is a vigil
If I can’t see you
The day is gloomy
If I can’t hear you

Little Nightingale
Little Nightingale
Where have you gone
Where have you been

Here is my hand
Empty, but full
Life-worn wrinkles
Among them seeds

Little Nightingale
Little Nightingale
Where have you gone
Where have you been

I saw you in the future
A vivid daydream
I couldn’t bear
You weren’t there any-more

Little Nightingale
Little Nightingale
Where have you gone
Where have you been

I’m gasping out
It’s you, you are here
I am relieved
Please, don’t go

Little Nightingale

 
Joshua Dragon

Leave a Reply

