Loving One’s Enemies Can Reconcile Warring Nations

My entire life has been one of persecution and mistreatment. Yet you see that I am not tired. I keep moving, step by step, leaving footprints as I go. When I turn around I can taste a precious joy at seeing them behind me. Up ahead there is nothing but persecution coming at me, like a headwind pushing against me. But I feel great exaltation when I turn around and look behind me, and I see people of all races following me. I see peace, harmony and unity. That is so beautiful and valuable to me that I then can move ahead even more strongly.

Consider the Japanese people and the Korean people. They were enemies for quite a long time. But today, the Japanese members are pledging their service and loyalty under me, a Korean man. They are even willing to marry Korean spouses. Isn’t that amazing? They are not pledging their lives for the sake of Rev. Moon; not at all. They are pledging their lives for the sake of the true love which I pioneered and championed. In this way, the enemy nations of Japan and Korea are being reconciled.

When Jesus was on earth there was a wall of hatred between the great Roman Empire and the little nation of Israel because one was conqueror and the other the conquered. Jesus knew that the only way to conquer Rome was through love. Rome conquered Israel with military power, but Israel could conquer Rome through love. Even though Jesus was crucified, he could still pray for God to forgive the very people who killed him. No power could be any greater. Love can overcome any walls, no matter how high and thick. Jesus knew that individuals have enemies, families have enemies, and tribes and nations have enemies. Hatred and animosity always cause killing on each level, and only one strategy can break down this wall – love your enemy.

The fallen world always responds to animosity by seeking revenge. If God and Jesus had used the method of revenge, however, then there would not be one human being left here on earth because God would have extinguished them all in retribution. A great movement of restoration only comes from this ideology of love. Only the power of love could begin the new history and new age. When a person has the power to love even his enemies, he is truly a giant and there is nothing he cannot deal with or embrace. Ultimately that person shall conquer the world in God’s way. Christianity has always possessed that ideology, and God sees that as long as Christians pursue that doctrine then they shall conquer.

The Formula for World Peace
Reverend Sun Myung Moon
1984

Leave a Reply

