Love Will Overcome the World’s Problems

A diagnosis needs to be made of the world’s problem, the nation’s problem, religion’s problem, the racial problem, the ideological problem, and the family’s problem. All levels of society need a spiritual doctor.

All these problems started when humankind went in the wrong direction in the beginning. From that time everything has been going in a direction opposite to God’s point of view. How can we turn the right side to the left side and vice versa? We have to go against the old, established desires. The whole problem is one of changing the direction of the “I”-centered family, the “I”-centered nation and “I”-centered religion and world. We have to go the opposite way and live the family life for the nation, the national life for the world and dedicate the world to God. The present way of living in the world must be completely turned upside down. “I” must live for the world, not for “my” sake. Judaism should exist for Islam and Islam for Judaism. Christianity should live for Buddhism and so forth. This is what is meant by the opposite direction.

Without going opposite its present direction there is no chance for the world to go in God’s direction. Selfish instinct prevails instead of a striving to love one another. Yet, the formula of loving one another really works. When this is applied, it will turn the world upside down.

My philosophy is very simple. If you have the attitude to love your enemy, then you can overcome any situation and there is no obstacle that can block you. In my lifetime of sixty years there were many things I didn’t want to tackle, but I did them because I loved my enemy. I did the worst things there were to do – I was a beggar, a laborer, a farmer, a fisherman, a dock worker, a miner. Every day I am living this principle, and when I look I see that there are many people of all colors following behind me. The Unification Church principle is rather simple and we live it. From the moment you can love your enemy, the Kingdom of Heaven shall come. God doesn’t only want individuals to love their enemies. He wants to see an entire nation that will practice this principle.

We are multi-colored here; this auditorium is a miniature of the heavenly Kingdom, with five colors of skin from 127 countries. All we have to do is practice this principle. We are not going to destroy our enemies but liberate them. We find love by loving them. Practice this in your daily life. That is where you can learn to bear the burden and taste God’s tears and broken heart.

Let us pray.

The Formula for World Peace
Reverend Sun Myung Moon
1984

Leave a Reply

